Press Release

Institute of International Education Announces 2007 Andrew Heiskell Awards

Contact: Deborah Gardner, Halstead Communications 212-734-2190
Hannah Thompson, IIE 212/984-5531,

Eight U.S. Campuses Recognized For Outstanding International Initiatives
Background for the Andrew Heiskell Award (Word Document)

NEW YORK, January 24, 2007 — The Institute of International Education (IIE) has announced the winners of the sixth annual Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education. The awards were established in 2001 to promote and honor the most outstanding initiatives being conducted in international higher education. The categories for this year’s awards were “Internationalizing the Campus,” “Study Abroad” (with a special emphasis this year on broadening the base of students who participate), and a new category highlighting “International Exchange Partnerships.” This year’s winning campuses are: The University of Delaware (Internationalizing the Campus), Emory University and Florida A&M University (Study Abroad), and SUNY - System Administration/Albany (International Exchange Partnerships). Honorable Mention was awarded to North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, Valdosta State University, University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire, and Bard College.

According to IIE’s President, Dr. Allan E. Goodman, "We were very impressed with the range and strength of this year’s Heiskell Award-winning programs. The IIENetwork member colleges and universities have been tremendously creative and innovative in addressing the challenges of preparing their students to live and work in a global society, and have achieved clear results. We are especially pleased to be able to recognize programs this year that have succeeded in increasing the participation in study abroad by students of diverse backgrounds and in diverse disciplines. All of these programs are making great strides in providing the international experience so urgently needed to strengthen America's competitiveness and our national security, and to increase our understanding of the world."

The members of the Selection Panel for this year's awards include some of the leading names in international education: Brian Whalen, President, The Forum on Education Abroad; Uliana Gabara, President, Association of International Education Administrators (AIEA); Stephen Dunnett, Vice Provost for International Education, State University of New York at Buffalo; Ulrich Grothus, Director, German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD/NY).

Following are the Winners and Honorable Mentions in their award categories:

INTERNATIONALIZING THE CAMPUS: Advancing curriculum development and providing services to international students.

Winner: University of Delaware (Newark, Delaware) "Advancement of a Campus-Wide International Curriculum"

Honorable Mention awarded to North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University (Greensboro, North Carolina), "Global Studies Certificate Program"

STUDY ABROAD: AProviding innovative programs and services and making study abroad more accessible to a broader student population.

Winner: Emory University (Atlanta, Georgia) "Emory College’s Science Experience Abroad"(SEA)

Florida A & M University (Tallahassee, Florida) "Global Opportunities on I -10"

Honorable Mention awarded to University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire (Eau Claire, Wisconsin), "Education Abroad: Removing Barriers and Extending the Reach," and to Valdosta State University (Valdosta, Georgia) "Study Abroad Program in Guadalajara."

INTERNATIONAL EXCHANGE PARTNERSHIPS: Recognizes institutions collaborating with counterparts abroad.

Winner: The State University of New York (SUNY) System Administration (Albany, New York) "Turkish Dual Diploma Programs"

Honorable Mention awarded to Bard College (Annandale-on-Hudson), New York "Smolny College: A Joint Venture with St. Petersburg State University"

Profiles of this year’s winning programs are available on the “Best Practices” resource of the IIENetwork website, at This site showcases nearly 50 winning programs and honorable mention recipients, to serve as a resource and inspiration for the international educational community worldwide.

This year’s winning programs will each receive a $1,000 prize to be awarded at an Awards Luncheon on March 30 at the United Nations, as part of the 2nd Annual IIE Best Practices Conference. The programs will also be featured in the Spring 2007 issue of the IIENetworker magazine and will be highlighted by IIE as the best practices in the field of international education throughout the year.

The Awards are named for the late Andrew Heiskell, a longtime member of IIE’s Board of Trustees, a renowned philanthropist, and a passionate supporter of international education, and have been endowed by a gift from Marian Sulzberger Heiskell as a lasting tribute to Mr. Heiskell's legacy.

# # #

The Institute of International Education is the world leader in the international exchange of people and ideas. An independent, not-for-profit organization founded in 1919, the Institute is the world’s most experienced global higher education and professional exchange organization. IIE has a network of 18 offices worldwide, over 900 college and university members, and more than 5,000 volunteers. IIE designs and implements programs of study and training for students, educators, young professionals and trainees from all sectors with funding from government and private sources. These programs include the Fulbright and Humphrey Fellowships, administered for the U.S. Department of State, and development training programs administered for USAID. The Institute is a resource for educators and institutions worldwide, publishing IIEPassport: Academic Year Abroad and Short Term Study Abroad and operating, the search engine for study abroad programs. IIE also conducts policy research and provides advising and counseling on international education and opportunities abroad.


Media Contact

Sharon Witherell
Director, Public Affairs
Tel: +1 212.984.5380

Shana Childs
Public Affairs
Tel: +1 212.984.5360

IIE Experts

IIE experts on international education are available for interviews or speaking engagements.

Dr. Allan E. Goodman
President and CEO

Peggy Blumenthal 
Senior Counselor to the President