Heiskell Awards: Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico

2014 Heiskell Award Honorable Mention: International Partnerships

Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico - University of North Texas Academic Liaison Offices

Photo: Dr. Warren Burggren, Provost of UNT and Dr. Jorge Olvera, Rector of UAEM during the ceremony commemorating the re-signing of the joint research agreements.

Nomination submitted by: Yolanda Ballesteros, Vice President for International Cooperation

Program Overview:

Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico, a Public State University in central Mexico, and the University of North Texas, in the DFW Metroplex, began a relationship in 2002 with the signing of an MOU for student and faculty exchange in Material Sciences. During the past 11 years, the partnership evolved into a strategic international collaboration when UAEM set up an Academic Liaison Office at UNT in 2005 and UNT subsequently established an Academic Liaison Office at UAEM in 2010. Each year, the partners conduct student and faculty exchanges, joint research projects, English summer programs, international academic workshops, and cultural exchange programs.

Since 2002, both universities have hosted international students and faculty for academic exchange purposes. Since 2008, UNT has hosted an annual Intensive English Summer Program for UAEM Students and Faculty. To support substantive research collaboration, both universities have provided funding for 10 joint research projects per year for the past four years, with $5,000 per project from each university.

Program Implementation:

Read the winning nomination, including details on how the program achieves its objectives

2017 Awards Presentation

IIE will present the annual IIE Andrew Heiskell Awards for Best Practices in Internationalization at a ceremony in Miami, Florida on March 14, 2017, as part of the Annual Best Practices in Internationalization Conference.

Selection Panel Members 2014

The members of the selection panel for this year’s awards include the following leaders in international education:

Amparo Codding
Academic Dean, School of Arts, Humanities and Wellness, Bergen Community College

Arlene Jackson
Director of International Education, American Association of State Colleges & Universities (AASCU)

Daniel Obst
Deputy Vice President of International Partnerships, Institute of International Education (IIE)

Anne Waters
Senior Associate Dean, School of International and Public Affairs at Columbia University

Brian Whalen
President and CEO, The Forum on Education Abroad