2006 Heiskell Award Special Recognition: Internationalizing the Campus

Atlantic Coast Conference Consortium

Atlantic Coast Conference International Academic Collaborative

Nomination submitted by: Wake Forest University, Pia Wood, Director, International Studies, on behalf of the participating IAC/ACC member institutions and their Chief International Officers: Boston College (Marian St. Onge); Clemson University (James Cross); Duke University (Gilbert Merkx); Georgia Institute of Technology (Howard Rollins); North Carolina State University (George Wilson); University of Florida (Jim Pitts); University of Maryland (Saul Sosnowski); University of Miami (Carol Lazzeri); University of Virginia (Rebecca Brown); Virginia Tech (John Dooley)

Program Overview
Recognizing the potential of consortia to support programs that may be difficult for single institutions to sustain, members of the Atlantic Coast Conference founded the International Academic Collaborative. Taking advantage of the strong ties that bind these campuses as one of the oldest collegiate athletic leagues in the United States, member campuses developed this academic linkage to provide new opportunities for study and research abroad and partnerships with foreign institutions. A strategic plan identifies three main focus areas, including study abroad, faculty collaboration, and communication and public awareness. The 2005 biennial ACC International Conference brought together nearly 100 deans, provosts, vice presidents and other administration officials to seek new areas of collaboration.

We encourage other consortia to build on the strength and administrative infrastructure of existing partnerships like this one to promote international education. Members should establish a clear governance structure to increase potential and success. We hope other consortia will follow the ACC’s lead.

Selection Panel Members 2006

The members of the selection panel for this year’s awards include the following leaders in international education:

Geoffrey Bannister
President, The Forum on Education Abroad

Esther Barazzone
President, Chatham College

Stephen Dunnett
Vice Provost for International Education, State University of New York at Buffalo

Ulrich Grothus
Director, German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) New York

Catharine Stimpson
Dean, Graduate School of Arts and Science, New York University